Midnight Sighs

Midnight Sighs: A Waka*

Tender is the night
wordlessly bare and breathless
soft rugged rushed sighs
breaks velvet night’s masked silence—
‘til we said the last goodbyes.

©2016 Rosemawrites@A Reading Writer. All Rights Reserved.

Photo credit: Unsplash


In response to May Book Prompts –  by Sarah Doughty and MahWrites.

Today’s prompt is Tender Is the Night by F. Scott Fitzgerald.

Tender Is the Night

*Waka

The waka is:

  • a pentastich, a poem written in 5 lines.
  • syllabic, 5-7-5-7-7 syllables. 31 onji, in English, 31 syllables.
  • true to the heart of the poet. The inspiration is to be drawn from the experience.
  • an early model for the tanka and many other Japanese forms.
  • gathered into collections. In most Japanese anthologies poems are arranged in seasonal sequence followed by considered, poetic-worthy topics such as love or grief.
40 thoughts on “Midnight Sighs

      1. EXACTLY. For me too. First it is gross and it is weird. I believe such act should be done in love, without the unnecessary ‘props’ and within the context of marriage. A lot might not agree with me but… that’s how i see it.

        Like

  1. Oh my goodness, oh my goodness–this kills me with LOVE…sigh. You’re too good Rosey–and now I have a question: what’s the difference between a waka and a tanka, since the lines/syllables are the same? If you don’t have time to address this, it’s fine–I can Google at my leisure 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Geez. Thank you! Your poems made me feel the same, my M! 😀 😀 😀
      And… you are right! They have the same number of lines and syllables. You have keen eye, my dear! I didn’t notice that! 😀
      Hmmm. According to my references, Waka is the earliest form of Tanka. So I believe it’s like Waka is the mother and Tanka is its daughter. 😀
      They differ in themes, a bit. Waka: true to the heart of the poet. The inspiration is to be drawn from the experience.
      While Tanka: written as a personal or emotional expression of themes such as natural beauty, love, the impermanence of live, the activities of the common people.
      🙂

      Like

      1. Thank you, always. xxoo
        It sounds as though the 2 forms differ only slightly–I think that I tend to mix ingredients in much of my poetry: sometimes a poem about rain or a sunset includes my feeling about my ghost-love, or some other experience. So maybe I should just call mine Tankas, to be safe 🙂 Your Waka is so incredibly beautiful–I might be able to do a similar one…will ponder later… 🙂 xxoo

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I agree. I think there’s a fine line. And I tend to mix forms too! HAHA. So I am not sure if this one should be called Tanka or Waka because I have never experienced this, yet. 😀
        I would love to read yours if ever your would want to write one! 🙂

        Like

  2. Passionate and silky! Loved it! You are an artist sweet Rosema!! ❤ ❤ Left me breathless!
    P.S. LOVE the new face of the blog!! ❤ Dajena

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Ohh, you are a talented young woman, yourself, and a queen of your own (or princess, I think we already established that hehehe) ❤ ❤ love to you!!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Oooh!!! Our Mr. Grey will definitely have morning sigh with this!! Hahaha. You’ve done very well dear. And I love the hind of longing and craving in this piece. ❤❤❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Geez. HAHa. Thank you, Maria! I am quite feeling weird of the two poems I written that’s so sensual. Boyfie asked if it was for him, HAHA! I said he is assuming! 😀 😀 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

