Scarred Heart: A Sonnet*

scarred

This is the first sonnet I have written on my own and yes, I am nervous. (Forgive me if I did not observe the required iambic pentameter!)

Scarred Heart: A Sonnet*

My heart is a pristine, clean, plain canvass,
so white and pure, innocently demure.
It beats in bliss, sometimes slow, sometimes fast
always full, always sure, never impure.
Like a blossoming bloom it smells so sweet,
brought by nectar– its fragrant honey flesh.
Then like a buzzing bee looking for treats,
you suck hungrily ‘till I’m left a mess.
My heart’s once bright petals started to wilt,
as the ghost of your love tears up my leaves.
Promises uttered broken without guilt,
stems wreaked havoc, buried in dark deep eve.
When will my scarred heart bloom and beat again?
Please tell me, scars won’t forever remain.

©2016 Rosemawrites@A Reading Writer. All Rights Reserved.

Photo credit: Unsplash


In response to Daily Post: Scars and Napowrimo Day 23. (yes, I’m catching up! :D)

 

Today, I challenge you to write a sonnet. Traditionally, sonnets are 14-line poems, with ten syllables per line, written in iambs (i.e., with a meter in which an unstressed syllable is followed by one stressed syllable, and so on). There are several traditional rhyme schemes, including the Petrarchan, Spenserian, and Shakespearean sonnets. But beyond the strictures of form, sonnets usually pose a question of a sort, explore the ideas raised by the question, and then come to a conclusion.

*Sonnet

All sonnets should be:

  • a lyrical meditation. The sonnet should sing.
  • usually composed with themes of love, spirituality, nature, sorrow or celebration.
  • a quatorzain , (a poem in 14 lines).
  • metric. In English, the sonnet is primarily written in iambic pentameter.
  • rhymed. The rhyme scheme is one of the features that identify the individual sonnets. (The Unrhymed and Blank sonnets by name deliberately lack rhyme which technically would be a nonce unrhymed scheme.) See the Sonnet Comparison Chart.
  • written with question-answer or conflict-resolution structure.
  • composed with a turn or change in tone. It is the positioning of this pivot or volta that is also a defining feature of sonnet.

Read more of my Napowrimo 2016 poems here!

 

40 thoughts on “Scarred Heart: A Sonnet*”

    1. GEEEZ! That is a bit of my concern, too, Christopher. (Aside from the iambic pentameter that I honestly have no idea on how to do!). I am thankful for affirming that my first try on sonnet surely sings! ❤ ❤ ❤

      Like

  1. This is really so beautiful rose … salute to your attempt … I have been dreaming to write sonnet but still not able… keep up rose … You are going great doing awesome …. the last line is just … glowing …. 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awwwee! The hopeless romantic writer in your strikes again, Rosema. This is beautiful and I love the flow of your poem- the excitement of falling in love at first, then the pain, then comes resignation, but in the end… there is always hope. Beautiful. Beautiful. Beautiful! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment