Silent Witness

Salted breeze combed my hair as my bare soles sink in sun-bathed sand. With eyes closed, my ears are delighted by the singing pelicans.

Then suddenly, a strong force hugged me from the back. Chills ran through me as his lips moved closer. He whispered “Do you remember?”

Slowly I turned, looked into his full-of-love familiar eyes, and said the words I uttered to him a year ago.

I was speechless when he get down on his knees. After a minute no less, in front of armless Neptune and a full blue moon, I said “I do, of course, yes.”

Word count: 100

©2016 Rosemawrites@A Reading Writer. All Rights Reserved.

Photo credit: Mom the Obscure


In response to Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers (FFfAW) May 03, 2016.

Rules:

  • a flash fiction challenge (stories in 100-175 words or less)
  • each story should have a beginning, a middle, and an end
  • no serial (continuation) stories
  • include a pingback to the challenge post

Thank you for the lovely prompt, Priceless Joy! ❤ I missed this so much and I am glad to be back! 😀

Read more short stories here:

35 thoughts on “Silent Witness”

  1. Nice take. Actually a really great place for a proposal. Many people noticed armless Neptune. I just noticed he had such heavy weight on his back/shoulders. I can just see his strain 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I soooo love your take on the prompt!!! 🙂 It is so real. Love the innocence yet cleverness of the child.
      P.S.
      I am quite unsure on how can I comment on your post.

      Like

Leave a comment