Out-of-comfort-zone Books I Loved

12c69-toptentuesday

“If you only read the books that everyone else is reading, you can only think what everyone else is thinking.” ― Haruki Murakami, Norwegian Wood


Surprises!

That is the main theme of  The Broke and the Bookish‘s Top Ten Tuesday today.

February 23:  Ten Book I Enjoyed Recently (last yearish) That Weren’t My Typical Genre/Type of Book (or that was out of your comfort zone)

So here are the out-of-comfort-zone books that I truly enjoyed recently. 🙂

1. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

To Kill a Mockingbird

I am not into classics. But this one’s surely worth reading.

2. Love & Misadventure by Lang Leav

Love & Misadventure

This is my first read poetry book. I read it as I am getting addicted to writing my own poems. To say that I am crazy about this book and Lang Leav would be an understatement! 😀

3. The Small Backs of Children by Lidia Yuknavitch

The Small Backs of Children

A book I just read because I can’t sleep, I am surprised that I actually liked the brutality and the explicit language used in this book.

4. The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

The Kite Runner

Historical fiction, though I enjoyed some, is not actually my to-read genre. But this one is, for me, one of the best.

5. The Magic Strings of Frankie Presto by Mitch Albom

The Magic Strings of Frankie Presto

I am a certified Albom fan, so why the hell this book is here?

It’s because magic and fantasy isn’t my comfort zone. And to tell you honestly, I am quite anxious that I will not like this novel as much as I loved Tuesdays with Morrie and his other books. BUT! I am wrong! 😀

6. The Pelican Brief by John Grisham

The Pelican Brief

Mystery and thrillers is my fave genre. But this came as a surprising hit for me as it is my first try for John Grisham. 🙂

7. All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

All the Light We Cannot See

With its intimidating length and historical depth, I thought this book will bore me. But I was, again, wrong! This is insanely a great read!

8. Still Alice by Lisa Genova

Still Alice

Medical drama is a genre I haven’t tried until this novel. And with the courageous and eloquent storytelling of Lisa Genova, I may read some more medical drama. 🙂

Photo and link credit: Goodreads


That will be it for this week!

Have you read some of this books?

If not, what are the books that surprised you?

Let’s dicuss!

 

61 thoughts on “Out-of-comfort-zone Books I Loved

  1. I’ve read some of these and loved them. The others I am interested in reading, especially Albom’s book. I think you would really enjoy Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout, Where the Heart Is by Billie Letts and The Deception of Livy Higgs by Donna Morrissey.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Some great books here! I also find classics tedious but loved Mockingbird! I’m a bit of a hist-fic fiend, so I loved both Kite Runner and All the Light.
    I’ve never heard of the Small Backs of Children, but I’ve added it to my TBR now!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I haven’t read any of these books but I have read outside my comfort zone 🙂 I read the entire Chief Inspector Gamache series of mystery/thrillers/police procedurals/etc by Louise Penny and I enjoyed them so much, I am listening to the audios books a second time through 🙂

    Like

      1. Our topic is nature. 🙂
        I am thinking that we both write two poems of any form or if you want a form you can tell me. Our 4 poems will be about nature’s element, earth, wind, water and fire. 😉 What do you think, Mel? 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. This a truly varied selection. I admire your taking courageous steps out of your zone. I thought I wouldn’t enjoy contemplative literature, let alone mystical. I read some mystic text in college and thought it was too much. But I’ve been meeting with a spiritual director, and he has recommended works that I have liked and admired. Works on the spiritual life by Jean-Pierre de Cassaude (a few centuries ago), Gerald May (contemporary), and Mary Oliver (writing now). The writing speaks of a better life through understanding how we are inside. I find what these folk have to say abstract yet practical for day-to-day living. I don’t think I was expecting that. The practical part, especially.

    The Sacrament of the Present Moment (de Caussade), Wisdom in the Wilderness (May), A Thousand Mornings (Oliver). Works to get one started. (De Caussade and May write in prose; Oliver is a poet.)

    You stretch us, too. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wooooow! The books and authors that you gave mentioned indeed intersting reads. I have books, contemplative and self-improvement books in my tbr this year. Those written by Joel osteen and the author of The Five Love Languages. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

