Book Review: The Lover’s Dictionary by David Levithan

The Lover's Dictionary

“It was a mistake,” you said. But the cruel thing was, it felt like the mistake was mine, for trusting you.”

37th – The Lover’s Dictionary by David Levithan

Rating: ❤❤❤❤❤ (BEST, GREAT read!)

What is it about: How does one talk about love? Do we even have the right words to describe something that can be both utterly mundane and completely transcendent, pulling us out of our everyday lives and making us feel a part of something greater than ourselves? Taking a unique approach to this problem, the nameless narrator of David Levithan’s The Lover’s Dictionary has constructed the story of his relationship as a dictionary. Through these short entries, he provides an intimate window into the great events and quotidian trifles of being within a couple, giving us an indelible and deeply moving portrait of love in our time.

What I Love: A book is great when I somehow wished I who wrote it. That’s how I feel for this masterpiece.

It is indeed a dictionary of love and you really have to decipher the story in each and every word (beginning from a to z).That’s what I love about it. It’s engrossing and intriguing.

Plus! Heart breaking!

What I Don’t Love Much: Nothing

Wise Words: “People often say that when couples are married for a long time, they start to look alike. I don’t believe that. But I do believe their sentences start to look alike.

“You can be separate from a thing and still care about it.”

“Trying to write about love is ultimately like trying to have a dictionary represent life. No matter how many words there are, there will never be enough.”

©2016 Rosemawrites@A Reading Writer. All Rights Reserved.
Photo and Story Summary: Goodreads and Unsplash
20 thoughts on “Book Review: The Lover’s Dictionary by David Levithan

  1. “You’re still here
    stitched into me, like threads in a sweater.

    Feeding me words
    that break me down and piece me back together, all at once.

    Tightening your grip,
    reminding me that I’m not alone.

    I never was.
    None of us ever are.

    You are still here
    stitched into the words on these walls.

    Every last one.”

    You know where I got that from! 😉 Hope it helps! 😀 ❤️❤️❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I need to read this book! Lover’s Dictionary seems to define love so scientifically, but it also turns the coin and explore it creatively, artistically. The quote, “People often say that when couples…“ could never define me and the hubs. We’re as different as day and night in our looks, but luckily, we share the same values, and maybe that’s when our words are the same. Though, I’m definitely more eloquent. I can say that b/c he’s not reading this. =)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

