Seasons: Part 1

My soul still searches for you.

For five long years, I was able to avoid this street. I was able to forget this area. I wanted to avoid you. I wanted to avoid us until my car stopped.

It ceased to move, for reasons I don’t know. I guess it brought me here, to the corner we call our own.

Winter, spring, summer and fall, this bench was ours.

It was a cold December night when you found me in this corner. I said my name, you said yours.

It was a blooming April morning when you asked me to be yours. Of course, I said yes.

It was a hot yet so bright July afternoon when you gave me that ring. I said I love you and you said you do, too.

I waited for you on that fateful day of October. I can vividly smell the earth scents and feel the sky winds as I saw you walk towards me.

I thought it was you. But it wasn’t you.

I thought you will come for me. But instead, I went to see you. I waited for you on our corner. But you didn’t wait for me. It’s humid autumn, but you laid still, chillingly frozen.

“Enough,” I said to myself.

I went back to my car because I cannot stand to be in this corner anymore.

I ran, then stopped abruptly when I saw my bloody-self inside my crushed car.

09.10.2015
©2016 Rosemawrites@A Reading Writer

Photo credit: Unsplash
Originally written for Blogging University’s WRITING 101 Day 13 Assignment. This is my first-ever flash fiction. ❤
41 thoughts on “Seasons: Part 1

  1. Ohhh this was heartbreaking Rosema! But I’m glad you’re reposting some old writings, because otherwise I’d have never read it. It may be flash fiction, but this was written with a poetic touch.

    Like

    1. Actually sya ang first love ko talaga. HAHA!
      P.S. The first full-length story that I wrote when I was in highschool (the one about me and my first love) actually involved death din. Geez. Mamatay tao kaya ako nung first lives ko? HAHA

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

