Our Ocean

Our Ocean: An Onda Mel*

Salted wind in swollen seashore,
whispering shells,
singing bird’s bells,
seeping fine sand in my feet’s pores.
You came rushing, warned of a storm,
and then it came,
and end our lane,
wrecking our ocean, all it’s form.

©2016 Rosemawrites@A Reading Writer. All Rights Reserved.

Photo credit: Unsplash


In response to May Book Prompts –  by Sarah Doughty and MahWrites.

Today’s prompt is The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman.

The Ocean at the End of the Lane

The Onda Mel* is an invented verse form introduced by Renelda Gibson.

The Onda Mel is:

  • an octastich, a poem in 8 lines made up of 2 quatrains.
  • syllabic, 8-4-4-8-8-4-4-8 syllables per line.
  • rhymed abbacddc.
62 thoughts on “Our Ocean

  1. Usually, I read the text alone, then all your helpful notes. When I read the next-to-last line of your poem, I wondered if you were writing from (or about) The Ocean at the End of the Lane. A story I and my friends (here) have really enjoyed. I like the scene of your creating. Image of a “swollen” scene that promises to burst through as a raging storm. Like wiping out sandcastles, only here the “lane” of form and remembrance. Lovely, romantic work, Rosema!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. it’s not easy. It involved a whole of…asking “am I going to use this?” Followed by head scratching and thoughts of various scenarios where I might need 4 ice scrapers. I could grow another pair of arms and then I’d need them, right?

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

