Dying, Darling

mono

Dying, Darling: A Monorhyme*

As I lay dying
I’ll be rememb’ring…

Your tired hands so caring,
sharp words yet encouraging,
big round eyes yet endearing,
non-singer voice yet calming.

Most of all as I lay dying,
my soul will be smiling,
with the faith it is carrying,
the best heirloom from you, mother darling.

©2016 Rosemawrites@A Reading Writer. All Rights Reserved.

Photo credit: Unsplash


This is written for my dearest Nanay, who celebrates her 45th birthday today. ❤

In response to May Book Prompts –  by Sarah Doughty and MahWrites.

Today’s prompt is As I Lay Dying by William Faulkner.

As I Lay Dying

A *Monorhyme is a poem in which all the lines have the same end rhyme.

 

41 thoughts on “Dying, Darling

  1. Such a sad poem. But bittersweet with good memories even though she is dying. I have always wanted to read that book by Faulkner. I guess my other reads of his I haven’t appreciated. I can’t think of them right now. But the Title is catchy. Happy Birthday to your Mom.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love the poem Rosema, and the monorhyme fits perfectly with the theme. A chant of heartfelt words.
    Please have a beautiful week ahead!
    Dajena ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Happy, happy birthday to your Nanay dear! I’m sure she’s so proud of you. Nothing warms a mother’s heart than to see her children grow into a beautiful and bright person with a kind and loving soul. That you are, my dearest friend. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

