Yearn: A Ya-Du

y

Yearn: A Ya-Du
©2016 Rosemawrites@A Reading Writer


Chill starts the year
harbinger’s breeze
winter’s here to
comfort your heart,
freeze the pieces torn apart.

Let cold build back
your heart’s track to
attract and feel
it’s once hot fire
ready for spring’s fresh desire.

Photo credit: Natasha Vasiljeva


In response to Blogging from A to Z ChallengeY is for Ya-Du

Ya Du

The Ya-Du or ritú (season) is stanzaic form dedicated to the seasons. The theme should express the emotions the seasons evoke. The form is a 15th century Burmese pattern using a climbing rhyme.

The Ya-Du is:

  • syllabic. L1-L4 tetrasyllabic (4) and L5 may be 5,7, 9, or 11 syllables. 4-4-4-4-(5,7,9, or 11)
  • stanzaic, written in no more than 3 cinquains.
  • rhymed. The form employs a climbing rhyme in which the 4th syllable of L1 rhymes with the 3rd syllable of L2 and the 2nd syllable of L3. L4 and L5 end rhyme.
  • dedicated to the seasons and the emotions they evoke.

    x x x a
    x x a x
    x a x x
    x x x b
    x x x x b or x x x x x x b etc

Missed a letter/poem? Read all Poetry from A-Z here.

40 thoughts on “Yearn: A Ya-Du

  1. Oh and you are an amazing teacher, did i ever tell you that? When was the last time I told you this?:
    *kilig* *dammi* *ambo*
    All three to this absolutely fantastic piece

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Teacher? I never thought about that for myself. 😀 I feel like I am a tyro poet and I am just learning, too! 😀

      Thank youuuuuu for the *kilig* *dammi* *ambo*, my dear Nandita! ❤ ❤ ❤ I missed you. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Indy! I always loved winter. 🙂 It’s because my favorite Korean drama was set in winter and from then on I loved it. Though I somehow now winter can be cruel. (I haven’t experience it myself, so winter will remain my favorite season for now. :D)

      Like

  2. You capture with zeal the coming of the season. I appreciate the ironies, such as the virtue in winter to freeze broken parts of the heart together (or at least not go further apart).

    The photograph by Natasha Vasiljeva is, like your verse, an emblem of the season.

    This is a winter treat, Rosema!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love how you weave your words. A lot of people associate winter with harshness and what not and I don’t blame them. Winter can be harsh but then so can any other kind of weather. The way you’ve weaved the positiveness in it and made it into a beautiful ‘happiness looking forward to’ poem… that takes talent. You have that in abundance 🙂 Lovely, lovely poem ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. *smiling sigh*
      When can you ever be lost for words that can burst my heart! 😀
      Thank you very much! 😀 I think that’s because I love winter. I haven’t felt it’s harshness yet (here in my country we only have two seasons). 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. “Winter’s here to
    comfort your heart,
    freeze the pieces torn apart.”

    ~Haayy.. I’ll never get tired reading your posts. You’re oozing with optimism dear. Keep it up!!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

