The Bloodiest Leaf

My friends love either spring or summer with the shining bright soleil. I am the odd fan of fall. The only kid who loves to see trees go skeletal. Little do they know the leaf-less twigs also scared me. But I still love fall because of my granny!

She lives in a brick red house with a bold blue door. When Ber-month starts, autumn’s scarlet leaves begin to crawl and cover her brick wall. It’s the signal: let the games begin!

Whoever points the bloodiest leaf, among me and my cousins, will get the biggest chunk of world’s chocolatiest cake!

Word count: 100

©2016 Rosemawrites@A Reading Writer. All Rights Reserved.

Photo credit: Pixabay


In response to Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers (FFfAW) April 06, 2016.

Rules:

  • a flash fiction challenge (stories in 100-175 words or less)
  • each story should have a beginning, a middle, and an end
  • no serial (continuation) stories
  • include a pingback to the challenge post

Thank you for the lovely fall-inspired prompt, Priceless Joy! ❤

Read more short stories here:

 

35 thoughts on “The Bloodiest Leaf

      1. We don’t get much sparkling white in winter–for which I thank God profusely! Some years we get a bit of snow, but mostly just rain–and I can write reams of poems about rain 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Mmm, now I’m hungry for chocolate cake! LOL! Love this story, Rosema but I need for you to explain to me what soleil and Ber-month is. Great game to play for the prize of the largest piece of beloved chocolate cake! Great story!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay! Chocolate cake… yummmm! 😀 😀 😀
      Thank you dear PJ! 🙂 Soleil is the French word for sun. 🙂
      Ber-month refers to months that end with -ber (September, October, November, December). 😀 I am not sure if fall starts every September or October so… i used Ber-month. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

