Bus Girl

Stealthy as she has always been, I almost jumped when she wrapped her delicate arms around me. Age has made it more difficult to stand in an almost jam-packed bus, but the whiff of her freshly bathe scent distracted me the most.

Oh, how time flies.

***

It was my first day in a new school in a new place caused by a new dad. If only I could sneak some cash I’ll just go away, live on my own. I don’t like my new home, neither my newborn sister, neither this cranky old school bus, neither those dozens of wide judging eyes staring at me as I walked towards the back of the bus.

Throwing myself to the seat as the bus moved, I heard a soft yet hurt ‘ouch’.

Holy cow!

The almost-ghost girl looked up, I was silenced, stunned.

I guess I have something, someone, to like now.

Word count: 150

©2016 Rosemawrites@A Reading Writer. All Rights Reserved.

Photo credit: Sunday Photo Fiction


In response to Sunday Photo Fiction for March 27, 2016.

Sunday Photo Fiction is a weekly writing challenge hosted by Alastair Forbes where a photo is used as a prompt for a piece of fiction using around 200 words. The piece doesn’t have to center around exactly what the photo is, it can be just used as a basis for a story.

Enjoy more awesome stories here:

40 thoughts on “Bus Girl

Leave a Reply

