Ten Books for Awesome-Short-Read Mood

12c69-toptentuesday

“People who say they don’t have time to read simply don’t want to.” ― Julie Rugg, A Book Addict’s Treasury


What’s your mood for today?

Moods is the theme of The Broke and the Bookish‘s Top Ten Tuesday today.

March 1: Ten Books To Read If You Are In The Mood For…

SHORT READS! 😀

Most of my followers are busy professionals plus great writers so for them, here are TEN AWESOME SHORT READS  (less than 300 pages) that they may want to read to have a break!

1. Love & Misadventure and Lullabies by Lang Leav

Love & Misadventure

2. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

3. The Small Backs of Children by Lidia Yuknavitch

The Small Backs of Children

4. Still Alice by Lisa Genova

Still Alice

5. Heaven is for Real: A Little Boy’s Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back by Todd Burpo, Sonja Burpo, Colton Burpo

Heaven is for Real: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back

6. Stupid is Forever by Miriam Defensor Santiago

Stupid is Forever

7. Never Never (Never Never, #1) by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher

Never Never (Never Never, #1)

8. Stargirl (Stargirl, #1) by Jerry Spinelli

Stargirl (Stargirl, #1)

9. We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

We Were Liars

10. The Rosie Project (Don Tillman #1) by Graeme Simsion

The Rosie Project (Don Tillman #1)

Photo and link credit: Goodreads


That will be it for this week!

Have you read some of this books?

What are your most-loved short reads?

Let’s dicuss!

 

48 thoughts on “Ten Books for Awesome-Short-Read Mood

  1. I couldn’t agree more to most of them, especially Lang Leav. ❤ I'd like to hear your thoughts on The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time and The Small Backs of Children though before I read. Since I trust your taste my dear, how did you find them? 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YAY! Yes to Lang Leav! 😀
      Here’s my thoughts about The Small Backs of Children:
      Brutally honest. Cringe-inducing words. Vivid descriptions.
      For The Curious Incident…
      Compelling. Entertaining. Thrilling. And eye-opening as well. (Because it is told by a child with an unusual kind of autism.
      Both are good reads. Though I love The Curious Incident more.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ouu nice topic idea! While I didn’t like We Were Liars, it was still a very quick read for me. I’ve always been interest in The Curious Incident but I’ve never gotten around to picking it up! It’s nice to see it in a list though!
    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh it is a good read (though I am not a fan of the last few chapters. :D)

      Here’s the summary from Goodreads to give you a background :):
      With the flash of a camera, one girl’s life is shattered, and a host of others altered forever. . .

      In a war-torn village in Eastern Europe, an American photographer captures a heart-stopping image: a young girl flying toward the lens, fleeing a fiery explosion that has engulfed her home and family. The image wins acclaim and prizes, becoming an icon for millions—and a subject of obsession for one writer, the photographer’s best friend, who has suffered a devastating tragedy of her own.

      As the writer plunges into a suicidal depression, her filmmaker husband enlists several friends, including a fearless bisexual poet and an ingenuous performance artist, to save her by rescuing the unknown girl and bringing her to the United States. And yet, as their plot unfolds, everything we know about the story comes into question: What does the writer really want? Who is controlling the action? And what will happen when these two worlds—east and west, real and virtual—collide?

      A fierce, provocative, and deeply affecting novel of both ideas and action that blends the tight construction of Julian Barnes’s The Sense of an Ending with the emotional power of Anthony Marra’s A Constellation of Vital Phenomena, Lidia Yuknavitch’s The Small Backs of Children is a major step forward from one of our most avidly watched writers.

      Like

  3. This is a great short-read list. Impressive for the variety! I think I only know Spinelli’s works from reading other things by him. Actually, I try to keep a small book in my bag at all times. That’s how I’ve enjoyed poetry by Linda Pastan, Mary Oliver, and Wendell Berry. I’ve read literature for youth this way, recently Son by Lois Lowry and now an odd story called The Tilting House by Tom Llewellyn. Contemplative writing such as that by Thomas Merton also fits in the bag. I’m a fan of small books. I’m not sure how much I knew that.

    Thank you, Rosema!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. WE WERE LIARS! I did NOT see that ending coming. I was so caught up in the Novelty of the the fact that they owned an ISLAND that I wasn’t even thinking.

    And later, once it was over, everything pieces itself together, you know, *SPOILER* We “Were” Liars. PAST TENSE. AAAH.

    Just followed.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I am only familiar with Still Alice, which is a great book. i also enjoyed the film. I have a number of favorite short reads but I have not read them in a long time.
    1. Lost Salt Gift of Blood by Alastair Mcleod
    2. Spit Delaney’s Island by Jack Hodgins
    3. My Heart Is Broken by Mavis Gallant

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Fabulous! I love the topic. Sometimes, a short read is exactly what I need. The Rosie Project is such a delight! I read two great short reads this past year — An Uncommon Reader by Alan Bennett and Our Souls At Night by Kent Haruf. Very different books, but both very good!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. An Uncommon Reader is about Queen Elizabeth stumbling across a bookmobile and suddenly becoming an avid reader. It’s cute and funny. Our Souls At Night is about two older people finding love and companionship — sweet and touching.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

