Twelfth-Time

PHOTO PROMPT © Erin Leary

It rained hard last night. I knew the school-bound path will be muddy.

My old black shoes, with soles barely sticking together, are as scared as me. I know I am clumsy, and it won’t be surprising if I fall on this lily-pad-and-water-spinach-covered pond, again. It would actually be my twelfth, just in case!

Slowly, I walked. Every step calculated. Every stride carefully executed.

For a second, I looked up and (holy cow!) saw her looking at me. She smiled, her gloriously beautiful endearing smile! Captured, enchanted, floored, oh, she’s been my crush since Grade 3!

Alas!

I heard my shoes squeak against the muddy path, my feet and my arms fly out, and the next thing I knew I am flat out deep in the pond!

Twelve, it is!

Word count: 130

©2016 Rosemawrites@A Reading Writer. All Rights Reserved.

Photo credit: Erin Leary


In response to Friday Fictioneers prompt.

Friday Fictioneers s a weekly writing challenge hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields where a photo is used as a prompt for a piece of fiction.

I saw your post, Maria, and after that I decided to join! 😀 Thank you! ❤

Read more short stories here:

82 thoughts on “Twelfth-Time

  1. Oh, Rosema… Ang lalim na ng dimples ko sa kiliiiiig! ❤ This is so cute. Very well told. BUT please tell me, we're you stalking me back then? Coz I remember a very similar scene when I was in HS (though I don't think he fell for the twelft time)! 😀 😀

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Your posts always makes me smile! 😀 😀 Well, those sad stories/poems does hurt but it’s a good kind of sad because I feel the depth of emotion you put into those posts. And this one is just <3. I can feel the exciting feeling of first loves and puppy loves in your story. He's so cute. :3

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Dear Rosema,

    Welcome to Friday Fictioneers. Cute story. I’ll offer you a one more challenge. I’m willing to bet you could whittle off 30 words to bring it down to the 100 word challenge. Again, welcome.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, you are right! I remember seeing those and I think you are one of those who introduced me with this challenge. I am participating in 3 short fiction challenges so I think I got confused already. 😔

      Nonetheless, thank you Vijaya! Your stories are my inspirations. I hope I could write those kind of short fiction. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

