The Beginning

Travelling is like a far-flung mystical village for me, when I was young. It seems true, but it seems imaginary, too. – Rosemawrites, Suitcase

2015 ended with a bang last year. Aside from the great food and good times brought by the holiday break, my vacation started early as I embarked in a journey that was once a dream, and now a reality.

Together with my dear friends, I had three unforgettable days discovering the beauty of my own country, proudly Philippines!

To keep a record of my memories and to show you guys the beauty of the Philippines, I will be publishing a series of posts about this travel! 😀

And this is the beginning! Please join me! 🐱

December 14, 2015 Night

Before 9 PM, our five-member gang started waiting for our rocket to come. (It is not a rocket, just a van! :D) Our driver was late, yeah, because of the very usual Manila traffic.

No bad vibes were welcomed because we are all excited to start the trip that we planned and save for for more than a year! (Yes, more than a year! :D)

We prayed as we jump in our hired van for the first time! Off we go before clock struck 10!

It took us roughly 11 hours to reach our destination! It’s because we travelled by land. 🙂

Untitled
To give you a bit of idea! 🙂 Courtesy of Google Maps!

FYI: We are headed to Ilocandia. Ilocandia is the term given to the traditional homeland of the Ilocano people. Today, the first three regions of the Philippines (Region 1 or Ilocos Region, Region 2 or Cagayan Valley and Region 3 or Central Luzon) comprise the present-day Ilocandia.

December 15, 2015 Day 1

Our morning begun with a stop over in the iconic ark welcoming us to Ilocos Norte, the northest part of Ilocandia!

A group picture is a must!

After we take photos, we head to a local food corner to eat our first breakfast in Ilocandia!

Ilocos is famous for their longganisa! So I ordered one! 😀

FYI: Longganisa is the Filipino version of Longaniza, a Spanish sausage similar to a chorizo and also closely associated with the Portuguese linguiça. Ilocos longganisa is known for its garlicky flavor! 😉

After I took my first bite, I realized, this is indeed the beginning of Ilocandia 2015!

©2015 Rosemawrites@A Reading Writer. All Rights Reserved.

Photo credit: ALL photos are MINE

 

35 thoughts on “The Beginning

Leave a Reply

