Reflected Answer: Writing 101, Day 2

Photography Wallpaper New Collection

Have I made the right decision

to quit my former job?

When articles, tasks, welcomed me like a mob.

Have I made the right choice

to become a writer?

When my brain cells sometimes falter?

Have I made the right turn

to pursue my dreams?

When the reality is not always what it seems.

Seeing myself against

the black desktop screen

With eyes and brain all tensed

but a heart full of preen.

Yes, I guess,

the answer is seen.

©2015 Rosemawrites@A Reading Writer. All Rights Reserved.

Photo credit: Rayuna


In response to Writing 101:

Day 2: Reflections by @mkucsera

On water, in puddles, in glass, in mirrors – reflections can clarify, blur reality, or fracture it altogether. They can serve up surreal images or a perspective that’s unexpected. Whether it’s street light-reflected raindrops or the sky distorted in a half-melted patch of ice, reflections are nature’s funhouse mirrors.

Reflections are not limited to non-living objects. Our bodies reflect our internal health and our clothes reflect our lifestyle. We also reflect internally upon our world, our physical state, or on ideas bouncing around inside our skulls.

Clear or distorted, in your poem today tell us something about the reflections you see — in the world or in yourself.

P.S.

Hey, Mel! Thank you so much for a very thought provoking prompt, 🙂

You made me reflect about the biggest decision that I made this year, and you made me realize that I, indeed, made the right decision.

Thank you!

~

41 thoughts on “Reflected Answer: Writing 101, Day 2

      1. Not yet 😁 I took the whole day to do yesterday’s assignment. Think it’ll be the same for the rest cos poetry is always harder for me to write than flash fiction 😂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. This is wonderful. I really love this line because it captures exactly how I feel about my job: “When articles, tasks, welcomed me like a mob.” Just sub in projects and website QA/QC (aka click EVERYTHING to make sure it works–the most brain numbing task ever invented but it’s got to be done before all code releases. So that’s my reality tomorrow). Good luck chasing your dream. I am chasing mine too but in my off hours since I have to pay my mortgage.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Aww. Thank you, Mel! I’m glad you can relate to that statement. Sometimes, or most of the time, work can really be excruciating.
      Good luck to the both of us! And again, thank you for digging up the thoughts buried inside me! 🙂

      Like

  2. Ohh decisions, decisions…I’m having a hard time in making a decision right now, not knowing which one is the one that I won’t regret later. This resonates with me because of that, thanks for this 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

