2015 Reading Challenge Super Update

Picture2

Six more books, one more month! 

It was October 21 when I last posted an update on the PopSugar 2015 Reading Challenge that I participated into! What a shame right? (facepalm)

A bigger shame is that after more than a month, I was only able to read five (05) books only! Like, seriously! 😐 One final blow is that Goodreads said I am one book behind. Argh! >_<

Nonetheless, excuse my rants because now I am still happy to post about the reading challenge and the five great books that I’ve read! Here they are…

A book more than 100 years old (40th) – Alice in Wonderland (Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, #1) by by Lewis Carroll

Alice in Wonderland (Alice's Adventures in Wonderland, #1)

Thoughts: I’ve watched a lot of Alice in Wonderland-inspired cartoons, TV shows and even a film based on it so I am really familiar with the story. On the other hand, I still found this book an entertaining novel to read. I am still not a fan of classics, though.

Rating: 💖 💖 (It’s okay. It might work for you.)

A book that came out the year you were born (41st) – The Pelican Brief by John Grisham

The Pelican Brief

Thoughts: Just when I thought I’ve the best whodunit and crime authors, I stumbled upon a John Grisham novel that was first published in 1992. After I started reading it at around 9 in the evening and it kept me awake until around 3 in the morning the next day, (it’s a 400-page book), I can definitely assure you that this book is insanely great! I missed crime mysteries that can keep me awake until the next morning and I found it!

Rating: 💖 💖 💖 💖 💖 (a MUST read!)

A (classic) romance (42nd) – See Me by Nicholas Sparks 

See Me

Thoughts: To those who’ve been following my blog for a while now, you know how I love Nicholas Sparks and how excited I was when I learned that a new novel will be out before 2015 ends.

It was released. I’ve read it. But this is the first time that I am posting about it. And I know it is unusual for a fan like me (who is actually one of the thousands who voted for the winning cover!).

Well, to tell you honestly, I was a bit disappointed with this novel. Not because it is horrible, it is not! It’s just that there are probably better novels from him that I’ve read before. Maybe I set the bar too high and this book was not able to achieve it.

I still love Sparks, though!

Rating: 💖 💖 💖 (You MAY read it!)

A book at the bottom of your to-read list (43rd) – The Magic Strings of Frankie Presto by Mitch Albom

The Magic Strings of Frankie Presto

Thoughts: Of course! You know how I am not excited about this novel from my so loved author (excited is an understatement)! I’ve already shared the Top Ten Quotes that I Loved from this awesome book, too!

And did you know that Mitch himself shared my post on his facebook page!

This is one of the glorious moments of my fangirling! 😀

So where are we now? Hmm… my thoughts! This is a great book, not just because Mitch is Mitch and I love Mitch. It’s the story, it’s the words, it’s the content that make this novel special.

If you loved how the prose poetry style of Anthony Doerr’s All the Light We Cannot See and Mitch’s signature insightful and moving life lessons, read this, NOW! 😉

Rating: 💖 💖 💖 💖 💖 (Please oh, please READ this!)

A book based on a true story (44th) – Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert

Eat, Pray, Love

Thoughts: I have heard about the movie version of this book before I stumbled upon this novel. It has its great moments, but there are honestly some dull ones that made me skip some pages. (Sorry, I know it’s a sin.)

Rating: 💖 💖 (You MAY read it. It might work for you.)

——

There you go!

What have you been reading lately?

Do you have a reading challenge? How was it?

I would love to hear them!

🙂

—-

©2015 Rosemawrites@A Reading Writer. All Rights Reserved.

11 thoughts on “2015 Reading Challenge Super Update

  1. I have read Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll and it is one of my favorite books. I love all the good quotes. Movie wise I hated the original kids version but love the new version with Johnny Depp and the sequal Alice Through the Looking Glass comes out next summer. John Grisham books are classic but the same after awhile. My favorite is ” A Time to Kill” and “The Client” and “Runaway Juror.” I’m loving that I will have to read again. I read a set of books by Alice Clayton a chick-literature writer. She is very funny and her characters are great. Read “Wallbanger” “Rusty Nailed” and “Last Call” also I read “Monster in his Eyes” and the sequal “Torture to Your Soul by JM Dorhower. It is an interesting duo, makes you question what’s wrong and right. Thanks

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great round up, and you will catch up the books 🙂 I am busy with a fifty books for the year challenge. I have done 48/50 for new reads, and some rereads of other things I have already reviewed in between. Having a book challenge is great 🙂 Good luck with finishing yours up, though I am sure you will!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. As for me, I’m starting to love classics. I’ve just fallen most ardently in love with Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice and I’m currently up for Oscar Wilde’s, The Picture of Dorian Gray. ❤ I hope you read Grisham's The Client, Runaway Jury, and The Broker. They're awesome, too. As for Mitch and Sparks, I rest my case. I feel the same way. 😀

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Aww. Good for you. I know Pride and Prejudice is a solid best seller. I know it is good, too, because its solid fan base speaks a lot about it. I tried reading it but… it made me fall asleep. 😦 I want to like classics too, but my reading mind resists. Argh.

      Like

  4. The readying challenge sounds like so much fun! Though, I’m scared that if I did it I wouldn’t get any writing done. I already love to read so much that I have to make sure I’m not using it as an excuse to not be writing. I think if it were a challenge, I would do NOTHING but read. 😛
    Anyway, I stopped by to tell you that I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. https://invisibleworldd.wordpress.com/2015/12/03/versatile-blogger-award/
    Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

