Writing 101: First Prayer

A chain smoker. A decade-long drug addict. An abusive and unfaithful husband. An irresponsible father.

Yep. That’s me.

It is surely surprising for you to see me here. Seating in the middle of your holy house.

Honestly, I never planned to go to you. I have never went to you, in fact. Maybe the first and the last time that I stepped into your sacred home was when I was christened. And then just a day after that you killed my mom. Then my abusive and irresponsible dad, well, like father like son, left me too.

That’s how unfair you have been to me!

I learned to steal food to survive, even when I’m just three. I have evolved to a full-blown criminal with gangs as the family that you never let me have. I never get married, I have loved one woman only, but that doesn’t mean I was a good partner.

You cannot blame me, though. Because you’ve been unfair to me. Until now… you’re unfair to me.

So why the hell am I here?

For my lovely Nicole, the only person that loved me despite of my dark side.

For the first time and for the last time, I am begging you to please let Nicole live.

I will not blame you, though I really badly want to curse you because you’ve been unfair to me! But for the sake of my five-year-old grand daughter, I am down on bended knees, please let her live.

She is the reason why my daughter let me live with them. She is the reason why her mom accepted me. It’s because of her, why I am now with my family after so many years.

She’s the only person who talks to me. She’s the only kid who considers me as a family. Her smiles are like sun rays. Her laughters are like chimes from heaven. She is my joy, she is my light.

And… she’s so young.

You can take me, because my life has been wasted ever since. So come on! Take me!

But please… oh Lord… let my grand daughter live.

—–

©2015 Rosemawrites@A Reading Writer. All Rights Reserved.

Photo credit: Stefan Kunze


In response to Writing 101:

Day 15: Take a cue from your readers

Remember the contact form or poll that you set up earlier to collect suggestions from your readers? Write today’s post based on one of these ideas. Be sure to mention the person who gave you this idea, and link back to their blog. (Don’t worry about giving credit if your idea came from an anonymous poll.)


 

Thank you to those blogger who voted for SHORT FICTION.

🙂

18 thoughts on “Writing 101: First Prayer

  1. This a very heart wrenching story. I can really feel what he is going through, through your words. He’s come to the right place though. I don’t know if this was real life whether his grand daughter would live or not, that’s in God’s hands. And truthfully, she could be in a lot of pain from the Cancer and maybe heaven would be a better place for her. But then again, Prayers can be amazing things and people can heal of diseases that doctors have said it is impossible to cure. So, I hope his grand daughter lives and I hope he finds peace with God either way. The best thing he can do is pray. There is not a man or woman, no matter how terrible they are, that God isn’t able to help and change.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow. Those are awesome thoughts and hopes, Mandi. 🙂 This story is fictional yet I know it happens in true life, too. 🙂

      Thank you for sharing your thoughts, Mandi, and for reading this story. I really appreciate it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes lol. I know it’s fictional. It was really good though. Made me feel like it was true. And the things I thought well I’m glad you appreciate them. Especially, the last thought because I know it’s true. Happy Writing girl, love your blog!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

