Writing 101: Concrete Jungle

Honks. Murmurs. Smokes. Rushed steps.

Breathe in. Breathe out.

“This is it,” I said as I try to calm my nerves.

One step, and another, then another.

I can vividly hear my new stilettos’ sound against the solid sidewalk. I can clearly see the busy road.

Everyone’s rushing. Cars, humans and even stray animals, they are all in a rush.

No one’s noticing me. No one’s with me.

Holding back my tears, I continue walking. 

Honks. Murmurs. Smokes. Rushed steps.

“Think about your dad’s old yet beloved car that was sold just to buy your plane ticket. Think about how your mom persistently borrowed money just to buy you clothes for winter. Think about how your five little siblings sobbed as you went inside the airport.”

“Think about your hopes, think about your dreams, think about your plans,” I said as I continue walking.

“Be brave. Be brave.”

Honks. Murmurs. Smokes. Rushed steps.

“This is your American dream, it’s now happening,” I assured myself.

Finally, I reached the building I was looking for.

“Welcome to the concrete jungle,” the guard said.

Surprised, I stepped inside, then looked back to the guard.

Seeing his friendly smile, I sighed.

I just smelled his Filipino blood. 

——

©2015 Rosemawrites@A Reading Writer. All Rights Reserved.

Photo credit: Unsplash.com


In response to Writing 101:

Day 10: Let the scene write itself

So far, we’ve found inspiration from our own experiences, images, words, and more. Today, let’s quietly observe the world around us and write about what we see.

12 thoughts on “Writing 101: Concrete Jungle

Leave a Reply

