3 Days 3 Quotes Challenge: Work it out!

three day 3 quotes

“Working hard for something we don’t care about is called stress. Working hard for something we love is called passion.”

First of all, I would like to thank my dearest blogger friends, Edwina and Jacq for tagging me with this Three Days Three Quotes Challenge. It is a great honor that you still remember me despite my frequent absence in WP. ^^’

I have been thinking of ways to update you guys about the latest happenings in my life. And I am glad that now, I can sneak sometime to write about it, through… quotes! (You know how I love quotes!)

Without further adieu, here is my first quote:

Photo credit: Work-stress-solutions 

Warning: This would probably be a long tale but I will try my very best to be brief. 🙂

I have been almost absent here in the blogosphere for almost a month now. If you have read my previous posts, I can hardly blog everyday anymore. Last week was the worst because I only blogged for Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday. Those are actually scheduled post.

The main reason why I am finding it hard to write any more is because I lack time. And that is because of my full work load brought by the fact that… I am promoted.

A big company that has been our client for six years is now assigned to me. I am not just a PR Writer anymore, I am now PR Writer and PR Accounts Coordinator.

Some said promotions should be something that I would be happy about. Sadly, that was not the initial emotion that I felt when my boss told me the news.

I was not happy, I was afraid.

Not afraid of the workloads, but afraid of my capability to handle the humongous task ahead. Not afraid of levelling up, but afraid of failing.

I doubted myself. I doubt if I can really fulfill the job that I am being offered. Yes, there will be additional pay but I did not appreciate it because fear infiltrated my whole being.

My boss felt my fear. She said it to me when we talked about the promotion. She asked me for one last time if I am willing to accept the promotion. It was then that it struck me. It was then that I remembered that I somehow asked God for this.

It was the first Sunday of September when I have written a note to God. I dropped the letter in my church’s ‘Prayer Request Box’. In the letter, I asked for a new account/ client for the company. And that new client would be assigned to me because I will get ‘commission’ for that.

God is really a god of expectation and not a god of explanation. I never asked for the company that my boss has given me because it is a really really big company . I am no more than eight months in this job and I think I am not ready for it yet. But… God thinks I am.

The initial weeks, I would tell you honestly, are chaotic. I am stressed out with all the tasks ahead. I am almost sick and I even dream about the company! (Can you believe that!?)

I am always waiting for me to fail. I am always waiting for me to commit a mistake.

Until last Sunday, during our church service, our pastor said, “Ikaw dapat ang unang magtiwala sa sarili mo. Mahiya ka kung wala kang tiwala sa sarili mo pero ang ibang tao meron.” (“You should be the first person who believe in you. Be ashamed if other people believe in you and you don’t.”)

Those words hit me hard. Because those words are for me.

Things have been different from then on. I started Monday believing that no task is too big. Now, it’s Thursday and I am now writing as I have finished all the reports and the write-ups that I have to do. Yes, there will be more tasks coming. But I am ready.

I now refuse to work hard and be stressed.

I now choose to work hard and love what I do.

~

©2015 Rosemawrites@A Reading Writer.


I would like to share this quote-journey with you my lovely fellow Filipinas! 🙂

I hope you, girls will enjoy it as much as I do.

🙂

34 thoughts on “3 Days 3 Quotes Challenge: Work it out!

  1. Congrats about your promotion, and as amazing as you are at writing.. I am SURE you are just as amazing at your job! Best of luck with the future endeavors! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for sharing your experiences. I really think this was meant for me. Fear is a paralyzing but I will encourage you with the words that encourage me. God has not given us a spirit of fear, but a spirit of power, love and a sound mind. Remember He has chosen you, therefore rely on the spirit for wisdom and strength.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Rosema God knows what is best for us and has already equipped you with the required Grace for this position and all you need to do is to constantly reach within you and to look up to him. It is a beautiful opportunity. Congratulations and more Grace to you. I agree with the quote 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Congratulations to you Rose. I am so thrilled that you have now got the confidence and self-belief that you need to deal with your new promotion. Your boss always believed that you could do it, and I think you always knew that you could too, but just got a little scared when it actually came to it!
    I wish you continued success in your job, and I am thrilled that you found some time to take part in the quote challenge.
    That is ia great quote that you chose, very fitting 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay! Thank you so much Edwina! You words made my heart swell! 🙂 Really!

      I am so glad to be back in writing too! Nothing beats the calming effect when my fingers are typing these words. 🙂

      Thank you for tagging me my dear!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Congratulations! Don’t worry about all those butterflies. Everyone has them when they find themselves handling new expectations – but they don’t talk about it – and you are already getting over it. Enjoy the perks, smile at the flowers, and laugh on my jokes 😀

    Liked by 1 person

      1. While I don’t want to say that then you should need to laugh more, I always enjoyed your visits to my blog – so I hope you’ll turn up again…one of these days.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

