WRITING 101: Seasons (FINALE)

NOTE: This is the FINALE of my original short story titled SEASONS. For a better reading experience, please read the first two parts first, Seasons and Season Part II.


“This can’t be,” my mind whispers. But my heart and my senses know, it is him.

When I finally look into his dark brown eyes, words ran out of me. Anger and sadness left me.

I am numb.

He stared back and looked through my eyes as his hand traces my arms and reaches for my hand.

“Let’s go,” he finally said, softly.

I am too weak to resist so I let him lead me.

Memories came rushing as we walk hand in hand towards the ancient wooden bench that we call, ours.

This place is far too familiar to forget. It smells sweet during summer, fresh during spring, chilly during winter. Now, the atmosphere is filled with earth scents.

We sit silently, unmoving.

I stare away from his face but my body is wide awake while his finger traces the ghost of our engagement ring.

More shivers run through me as I felt his face moves closer to my ears.

“I’m so sorry, my love,” he whispers repeatedly.

His hoarse voice cracks as he softly say how much he missed me.

I slowly pull him away.

I faced him, eye to eye, with all my being. I am not sure if I am a soul now or what, but I bared my whole self to him as I look straight to his teary-eyes.

“Breathe. Please, breathe,” I remind myself as the flood of emotions flow through me.

Anger. Sadness. Longing. Unbelief. Love.

I am now looking again at the man I loved and still love so much. I am now looking at the man I imagined waiting for me at the altar. I am now looking at the man I dreamed of having children with.

I am now looking at the man I have mourned for five years.

I am now looking at the man I badly wanted to be alive, again.

“Come with me,” he said as he wiped my tears.  

“How?” I asked in between my quiet sobs.

He moves closer to me. “Just say yes.”

I looked at his eyes and let the windows of my soul express the words I cannot verbally say.

Our stares are charged with strong love, anguish, sadness, confusion. Our eyes are like weapons that unveil the emotional turmoil that happens inside us.

Just as the longing became unbearable, his soft lips finally met mine.

We are both cold but our locked-lips sent warm current through our whole being. His lips feel familiar and intoxicating. His lips remind me of what I have been missing. His lips, oh, his lips.

My eyes remain close as I wanted to feel him and him only, until a strong electric jolt shocked me.

I resisted the strong energy that tries to suck me away from him.

I tried… I tried…. I tried….

But I cannot resist the black-hole-like force that swallows me.

My heart beats fast.

My body shakes.

My breath rushes back.

“Her heartbeat returned. She’s back, she’s back,” someone whispers softly but with urgency.

My eyes open at the blinding lights of the operating room.

I am alive, again.


Whew!

I am really jittery about this ending because I am not sure if I ended this well-received story, in a good enough way.

But this is how I would like to express my greatest and biggest thanks to Blogging University’s WRITING 101 course! 😀 Kudos to @cherilucas @susanrnet for creating and administering interesting and thought-provoking tasks.

Honestly, A Reading Writer just a book blog before. It’s more about my reads. But after Writing 101, A Reading Writer is now really, WRITING!!! 😀 Now, my blog has Fiction by rosemawrites category!!! 😀

I cannot express how grateful I am because I am part of this course. I have said for how many times that I don’t really write fictions because I think I cannot write a good one. I write poems and news articles but not stories.

Writing 101 showed me a part of my writer-self that I am not aware does exists. 

So I am now taking a bow.

But, Day 20’s assignment will be posted, soonest! 😀

~

40 thoughts on “WRITING 101: Seasons (FINALE)

  1. Bravo!!! 👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻
    Excellent finale! Great job, Rosema! 👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍 Really great!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I love the ending! It was unexpected! At least she got to meet him for one final chance, sort of satisfy her longing for him. Now that she’s alive, she can move on. 😄 That’s what I perceived. 😄

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Wow! Really? That’s your intention too?! Script writer like you writes the best drama for drama fan like me! 😄 I can visualise how she was reluctantly being sucked into this black hole on one end, while on the other end, the doctors and nurses were trying hard to rescue her. Then voila! The machine started beeping and she opened her eyes. 😄

        Liked by 1 person

      3. EXACTLY! That’s the scene that I wanted to visualize. 😀 It is hard, though. I am not sure if I was able to paint that scene in this story. But I am glad to hear that that’s how you imagined it! 😀

        I think that’s the effect of having you in my mind while I am writing this! 😀 What do you think? And, here’s another info. As I write this, I listened to this song, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v2yPU5WPwZs
        again and again. Please listen to it, too because I think the song complements the story. 😀

        Thank you again!!! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Oh yes! The song does complement the story very well. Can I tell u what I visualise after hearing the song? Here’s what I see…(the song continues to play at the background) After she woke up, she looked out of the window. She saw him in the sky. He smiled at her. She smiled back and felt peaceful once again. 😄

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Really give you the creeps?! 😂 Your story is perfect! There’s no need for any addition. 😄 It’s just what I visualised from your story, together with the song! Haha…me and my crazy imagination 😂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Jacq. This is somehow a bitter sweet ending. 🙂 But I am now glad that I made this ending because now she can continue a life after her love’s death. Finally she can move on. 🙂

      Thank you, Jacq!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

