Mondays Musings: On Holding Anger

Monday Musings

Start the week with some wise words worth pondering. – rosemawrites

Last week has been so fun as Writing 101 has been really an enjoyable class packed with awesome bloggers/classmates.

Today’s Monday Musings is inspired by our Day 9 assignment, particularly by Annie and TLizzy. These two have all the right to live with hatred but they chose the opposite direction. 

So here is my word-to-ponder for this week:

Image by JJP at https://twitter.com/bitchboy30.

From: The Five People You Meet in Heaven by Mitch Albom

The Five People You Meet in Heaven

My thoughts:

I am honestly not a forgiver. I keep records of wrongs. I may say I forgive you, but I will surely not forget.

But as I grow, as I experience rejections, as I experience life’s harsh realities, I have learned that everything really happens for a reason.

Someone may have wronged you, but that is the best way to make you stronger. 

Someone left you, but after that you discover that you are more capable than you think you are. 

I am not a ‘perfect forgiver’ yet. But I am working on it.

Because you forgive not because the person deserves forgiveness. You forgive because you deserve to be free. 


Is there a person that have wronged you that you still haven’t forgiven?

Is there a way to forgive easily?

I would love to hear it from you.

~

23 thoughts on “Mondays Musings: On Holding Anger

  1. Hi Rosema,
    Some of my “friends” from my school created two fake facebook account when we were in grades 9 and 10. They got photos from our excursion, created accounts in my name. I am not sure in what number, but had added a number of friends. I came to know this when I was in 12th. Most of us were studying in different schools then. Then I started my original account and after some time found out that they had done their best to defame me. I never use swear words, but by posting one or such posts, they wrongly told other friends that I was different from what I showed to the world. Because of that false impression, most of my school friends do not talk to me like they used to before. I discovered who had done that but I thought of forgiving thinking that they were stupid teenagers then. It’s not easy, however. When I think of what they have done, I’m filled with rage. I have to forgive them again and again to live normally.

    Sandeept

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Sandeept. I have never been in a situation like yours but I have read and watched a lot about it and I know that it is really hard. It is hard. It will never be easy.
      But forgiveness is a choice. Just think that you do it not for them. Because they are all ****.
      But you deserve freedom from anger. You deserve it.
      🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hi there. That is just so true. I can relate to that now because I have been oppressed last night too. I shared this bad experience is my post today.

        It is really hard to remain quiet. I felt so helpless, too.

        Like

  2. I have had to forgive someone very important in my life. Many, many years ago I was hurt very badly and 10 years later I learnt the secret of forgiveness. You must forgive so that you don’t carry around the burden of the hurt. The important part of the secret that helped me the most to forgive, is that you will never forget.
    So here is my advice always give forgiveness, yet know you will never forget.
    A memory is not a burden it is a beautiful, messy, complicated part of you. Carrying hurt and pain is a heavy, harmful burden that you need to let go of through forgiveness.
    I feel a blog post coming on… thanks for sharing this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I completely agree, Melanie. It is great to hear that you have learned how to forgive. It is not easy but we should do it. 🙂 Thank you so much for the visit! 🙂 I am glad that it has touched you. 🙂

      Like

  3. Reblogged this on Having an Affair and commented:
    The beautiful Rosema has nominated me for The Infinity Dreams award. In my appreciation I am going to reblog her post, On Holding Anger, from her Monday Musings, a great post which resonated with me greatly. Thank you Rosema, such an honour to be nominated by you.
    Melanie M

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, I don’t know what to say because I know what you feel. I am really not a forgiver myself. And I also forgive but never forget.
      But I keep on remembering this quote from Mitch Albom. 🙂 That’s what I keep in mind. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I love Mitch Albom!! And the way I truly learned about forgiveness is realizing that it is not for the other person.
    Forgiveness does not mean you “okay” what the other person has done to you. It also doesn’t mean that you let them back into your life to hurt you. It doesn’t mean you have to go over to them and tell them that you have forgiven them as a form of apology on your part, especially if you were not the one that caused the harm in the first place.
    Forgiveness is letting go; of the anger, the grudge, the hate, even the guilt, that is holding you back from moving forward.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

