2015 Reading Challenge Update: A BOOK ORIGINALLY WRITTEN IN A DIFFERENT LANGUAGE (11/50)

Picture2 It has been a while since I posted an update for my 2015 challenge. Forgive me guys. I have been very busy this past few weeks.Though I have been busy, I was still able to sneak some book reads so here is my latest update.

As of now, I am done reading 12 books and according to my Goodreads account, I am two books ahead of schedule! Yikes! Moving on, for A BOOK ORIGINALLY WRITTEN IN A DIFFERENT LANGUAGE, I read Haruki Murakami‘s Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage.

19288239
Genre: Bildungsroman Published: April 2013
Judging from the name of the author himself, it is clear that this books is originally written in Nihonggo, the Japanese language as Haruki Murakami is  a Kyoto-based popular contemporary Japanese writer and translator.
BOOK THOUGHTS: 
As I find it hard to get enough time to do my reviews, I’ll have book thoughts alongside my reading challenge updates. Please consider this a short book review. 🙂
Haruki Murakami’s work is described as ‘easily accessible, yet profoundly complex’. I found this book as the exact epitome of this description.
My Rating: 💖💖💖
The Story:
Technically, the premise of the book is basic. Tzukuri Tazaki, the novel’s main man, had a group of friends in highschool. All of his friends, two girls and two boys, have names or surnames that means a color, which are red, blue, white and black.
Murakami started the book with Tzukuri describing each of his friends colorful and strong personalities.  admitted that among his peers, his name and his personality is the most dull, thus, colorless.
Amid his insecurities, he shared good relationship with his group of friends until they suddenly dropped him out of the group. This left him shattered.
As Tzukuri aged and fulfill his own dream, he decided to mend his broken past to be able to have the future that he wanted for himself.
The Blurb:
Like how most of his readers and critics described his work, Haruki Murakami’s Colorless Tzukuri Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage is easy to understand yet it has the right amount of depth.
As he alternately tell the story of Tzukuri’s past and present, Murakami was able to paint the picture of the book vividly. His ability to connect the unattached stories is just commendable.
The story is thought provoking as it deals with getting answers to questions that could have haunt you until your on your death bed.
Kuddos to this Japanese author!
The Wise Words: 
The Wrap:
I am not particularly happy with how Murakami ended the story though Tzukuri was able to get a closure that he deserved.
~

Leave a Reply

