Top 10 Novels to read on Valentine’s

Top 10 Valentine's

The ‘cheesiest’ day of the year is coming and to celebrate this year’s  season of love, I created a top 10 list of novels to check-out this Valentine’s! Because this is my list, these awesome novels are from my goodreads READ list. This means out of 103 books that I have read, I selected stories which I think is the best companion for this love season.

Whether you are in a relationship, single, no-boyfriend-since-birth, friendzoned, heart broken, widowed, hopeless romantic, or anything else, here are the stories that you may want to check out. I intentionally picked diverse type of love stories so anyone can relate. So here are the books that can teach and show you what love truly is.

10. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green – Honestly, I will not call myself a fan of this book but the story really says a lot about love. Two cancer patients, Augustus Waters and Hazel Grace, fell madly and deeply in love amid their physical state. Green ended the story in a realistic yet very painful way. Yes, I cried!

9. The Host by Stephenie Meyer – A love triangle set during an alien invasion composed of a woman, a man and an alien/soul inside the woman’s mind. Isn’t it freaking strange?! This is the exact reason why I picked The Host. Meyer’s overly imaginative mind gave birth to Melanie who refused to leave her own body which was supposedly owned now by an alien/soul named Wanderer.

As Melanie flashes her fond memories of her love, Jared, Wanderer ‘Wanda’ also fell in love with him. On the other hand, these three had their own happy endings in the novel’s last pages.

8. Eleven Minutes by Paulo Coelho – This is not your ordinary overly romantic book yet it explains a lot about true love. Maria, a young Brazilian woman who stopped believing in finding true love met a handsome painter in Geneva. Despite their differences, they both discovered an ‘inner light’ that explains ‘sex in the context of love’.

If you’re fond of cheesy ending, I guarantee that you will get want you want.

7. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes – Love can give life even for a short time. I consider this book one of the saddest novels that I have read. (Yes, this made me cry as well.) Lou Clark, a positive and bubbly lass, was hired to be an aid for Traynor, a grumpy quadriplegic who has no desire to live.

As Moyes told how Lou tried so hard to change Traynor’s mind towards life, the characters then cared and fallen in love unexpectedly. But the reality of life will be the greatest hindrance of their blossoming relationship. In as mush as I want to change the book’s ending, I can’t. Yes it’s just so heartbreaking but it is realistic .

6. Where She Went by Gayle Forman – A follow-up for If I Stay, Forman continues Mia and Adam’s love story after Mia woke up. I chose Where She Went as the first book is not really focused on their love story. If I Stay is more on Mia’s decision making, to stay or to die with the rest of her family.

After Mia woke up, she did what Adam whispered to her, she left him. But it was not the end as they met three years after. As they revisit the past and rekindle the love, the couple realized the meaning of true love. The ending? It’s sweet.

5. The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion – Put away those tissues as this novel won’t tear you up, it will literally make you laugh. This is your not-so-ordinary love story as Simsion put together a genetics prof with a bit of social disorder and a barmaid yet fierce and intelligent woman.

Don Tillman has accepted that romance isn’t for him. His few friends suggested a Wife Project for him where women will be measure in terms of all his standards. Rosie is clearly not a woman who can pass Don’s standard, but as they work together in finding Rosie’s biological dad, Don discovered a new feeling that he isn’t use to, it is called love. How will he know and admit it? Read the book. 🙂

Picture1

4. Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell – Look back to your high school first love with this novel by Rainbow Rowell. A feel-good and a bit funny novel  yet deep and serious at the same time. A not-so-beautiful red hair girl, Eleanor, paired with cute and bi-racial lad, Park, makes an interesting and romantic story of innocent love.

Until now, I am left hanging. Please Rainbow, tell us what’s that three words in Eleanor’s card for Park!

3. Twilight Series by Stephenie Meyer – Years after the story has ended and the final movie was shown, the Bella and Edward story can still make my heart flutter. I am not fond of vamps but its the story that made me love them as a couple.

In case you don’t know them, Bella is a human who has fallen in love with Edward who is a vampire. As the series progressed, Meyer put twists, love triangles ahem Jacob, and trials in the couple’s relationship. In the end, they had their happily ever after forever.

the twilight saga @forkswa Instagram photos | Websta (Webstagram)

1 and 2 plus a BONUS! – If you are a regular reader of my blog, you know this is coming! Love in written words was introduced to me by my most loved author, Nicholas Sparks ❤. So definitely, this list will never be complete without his novels.

There are two spots left by I can’t really choose just two. So we’ll have a bonus novel! 😁

First is Message in a Bottle. Among all leading men of Spark’s novels, Garret Blake is my favorite. As a writer, it is a dream to have a man like him who can translate love into heart-tugging words. Though his love story with Theresa had a tragic ending, (I even watched the movie with hopes that it will not have the same ending as the book), their love story is just so lovely to remember.

Nicholas Sparks, Message in a Bottle

A message in a bottle - Nicholas Sparks

I shed tears when I read Message in a Bottle. It haunted me and I thought that it is the only book that can do that to me. I figured out I was wrong after reading Nights in Rodanthe. This short yet moving novel gave me chest pains (seriously) as the story was told.

A 45-year old woman with troubled marriage, Adrienne, and a 55-year old doctor who tries to mend his relationship with his son, Paul, met and fall in love. But their life’s circumstances changed them and their ideas about love.

Pure is the best description for this Sparks novel. It isn’t too romantic yet it conveyed the deepest meaning of the overrated word called love.

Last but not the least, because this list won’t be complete without this novel, is off course The Notebook. Noah and Allie’s touching love story is now considered a classic. Who would not fall in love with a story that started at a young age and ended as strong and intense as ever even Allie succumbed to Alzheimer’s.

The reason why this story is the most celebrated Spark’s novel is it gives hope that forever may exists. Whose heart will not melt while reading how much the old Noah still loves the old Allie who sometimes cannot recognize who he is?

If you have not read this novel, aww! That’s the saddest!

Happy Valentine’s!

❤💕

~

3 thoughts on “Top 10 Novels to read on Valentine’s

Leave a Reply

