Constant

Background isn't mine. But the lay-out idea's mine. :)
Background isn’t mine. But the lay-out idea’s mine. 🙂

It has been almost two months ago when I experienced my favorite artist for the First Time. That is no less than Mr. A-Z, Jason Mraz.

That night of November 24, 2014 was pleasant not only for my ears but also for my soul as Jason sang the most beautiful songs in the world and preached realities that we as humans should be aware of.

Because that was my first concert ever, I can’t help myself in singing with almost all his songs. Thankfully, I know most of the songs that he sang during the night. There are those few that I was not familiar with. One of which is Quiet, a track from his recent album YES!

I am one of those Mraz fans who fell for his upbeat music with tongue-twister-like lyrics, if you’re not familiar with what I am talking about check out Wordplay, The Remedy and Geek in the Pink. When I sing his songs, it’s like as if i’m releasing my inner angst that I seldom and almost never show.

This is the reason why I skipped Quiet among the tracks of his new album he made with the equally talented gals Raining Jane. Quiet is a bit mellow, chill and laid back kind of song. But after I heard Jason Mraz sang it live during his concert here in Manila, I was captivated.

As the crowd, who apparently love the song, sang with Jason Mraz, I can’t help but get some goosies! Especially during “Will you be my constant through it all?” part. Here’s the very awesome lyrics that’s just so touching.

Every time I go home there’s another cellphone tower
Construction getting louder,
Paving over yesterdays
You and I, we will try to find the side of it that’s pretty
While our town becomes a city,
We won’t let it be erased
Empires rise, empires fall
Will you be my constant through it all?

I will hold your hand and watch the world spin madly around this life we’re in
Oh yeah everything goes quiet
When it’s you I’m with
Oh yeah everything goes quiet
When it’s you I’m with
You, you, you…

Every once in a while,
You know I get these real bad headaches
Worried about the mistakes
That I’ve made along the way
You and I, we can’t hide from the fact that we need each other
How else will I recover when the fever comes again

Temperatures rise
Temperatures fall
Will you be my constant through it all?

I will hold your hand and watch the world spin madly around this life we’re in
Oh yeah everything goes quiet when it’s you I’m with
Oh yeah everything goes quiet when it’s you I’m with
You, you, you…

There are no words, no words when
I’m with you, you, you
Every time I hear music
They’ve added more stuff to it
Things are always moving into a futuristic place
Where you and I, we will try
We can try to dance into tomorrow
But time we’ll have to borrow
Not a minute left to waste

Heartbeats rise, heartbeats fall
Will you be my constant through it all?

Isn’t it overly sweet?! 😍 Now look for your own ‘constant’ dear reader! ❤

~

Leave a Reply

